Team Players

alt text image
More than a dozen countries from the U.S., Canadian, and European space agencies are involved in Webb's development and construction. In 2020, Webb will lift off from the European Space Agency's launch site in French Guiana.
Webb's global appeal has been part of its nature since the beginning. In addition to the United States, thirteen countries are involved in building the Webb telescope: Austria, Belgium, Canada, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United Kingdom. Additional member states in Europe also contribute to the European Space Agency (ESA). NASA is the lead partner on the project, working in conjunction with ESA and the Canadian Space Agency (CSA).

Updated: May 04, 2016